هدف

برنامج ديترويت كوليدج أمباسادور (DCA) هو مشروع سنوي لقيادة الشباب يعمل فيه الطلاب المختارون الذين حضروا أو يحضرون المدارس الثانوية في منطقة ديترويت كسفراء كليات شباب قريبين من الأقران يروجون للثقافات الجامعية داخل مدارسهم ودوائرهم الاجتماعية. يعمل هؤلاء الطلاب كقادة مجتمعيين داخل مدينة ديترويت. نقوم بتدريب السفراء على العمل مع مستشاري المدارس الثانوية ومديري المدارس لخلق أو تعزيز ثقافة الذهاب إلى الكلية في مبانيهم. ينخرط السفراء في دعم نظير إلى نظير ومشاركة المعرفة لزيادة التخطيط لما بعد المرحلة الثانوية ، وإكمال طلبات الكلية ، وإكمال FAFSA في مباني مدرستهم وفي جميع أنحاء المدينة.

Screen Shot 2020-07-23 at 5.07.28 PM.png

سفراء كلية ديترويت (DCA)

التاريخ

تم تجريب برنامج سفير كلية ديترويت في صيف 2019 مع مستشاري الكلية السابقين والمدير التنفيذي لـ DCAN. برنامج DCA الآن في العام الثاني مع 6 سفراء جدد. يستضيف برنامج السفير برامج حول الاستعداد والتحصيل بعد المرحلة الثانوية. يوفر فريق قيادة DCA أيضًا تدريب Peers vs Pennants Ambassador لتدريب الطلاب الآخرين في ديترويت للعمل كسفراء في مدارسهم.

يوسع برنامج DCA قدرة DCAN لدعم كل طالب في مدرسة ديترويت الثانوية في إنشاء وتنفيذ خطط ما بعد المرحلة الثانوية. يعتبر دعم ومشاركة المعرفة بين الأقران فعالين بشكل فريد لأن الشباب يتأثرون إلى حد كبير بالشباب الآخرين. في نهاية المطاف ، يؤثر السفراء بشكل مباشر على مستقبل آلاف الأقران من خلال دفعهم إلى اتخاذ إجراءات نحو الحصول على مؤهلات التعليم العالي وتشجيع أقرانهم وعائلاتهم ومجتمعاتهم على فعل الشيء نفسه. يعزز بناء شبكة الأقران التعليم ما بعد الثانوي والتقدم الاقتصادي على مستوى المدينة.

أهداف السفير

2020-2021

  • 70٪ من الطلاب المسجلين في listserv يكملون تطبيق FAFSA.

  • يتقدم 70٪ من الطلاب المسجلين في listserv للتسجيل في كلية واحدة على الأقل أو برنامج شهادة التجارة المهنية بعد المرحلة الثانوية.

  • 70 ٪ من الطلاب المسجلين في listserv يسجلون في Detroit Promise ، رعت غرفة ديترويت الإقليمية فرص المنح الدراسية لمدة عامين وأربعة أعوام.

  • يتم قبول 70٪ من الطلاب المسجلين في listserv في كلية أو مدرسة أو برنامج تجاري مهني ما بعد المرحلة الثانوية.

fullsizeoutput_17c9.jpeg
IMG_8005.jpg

الأحداث القادمة

FAFSA و Fajitas

31 أكتوبر ، 2020 11 صباحًا - 1 مساءً

انضم إلينا في The Corner Ballpark - Detroit PAL للحصول على الدعم مع FAFSA. سيكون هناك سندويشات التاكو المجانية وأكياس العلاج وبطاقات هدايا كروجر أو أمازون بقيمة 25 دولارًا للعائلات العشر الأولى التي تسجّل وتفي بموعدها. سيتم ممارسة التباعد الاجتماعي.

تسجيل

Shy'Niya Eddins

Senior at Jalen Rose Leadership Academy

 

Schools She Has Been Accepted To: Saint Xavier University, Albion College, Carthage College, Ferris State University, Quinnipiac University, Grand Canyon University, Eastern Michigan University, Cornell College, Saginaw Valley State, Cleveland State University, Grand Valley State University

Plans After School: She wants to go to college and study medicine and psychology with a focus on child psychology with an ultimate goal being a child psychologist or psychiatrist

Samual Burke

Senior at Fitzgerald High School 

Schools He Has Been Accepted To: Ferris State University, Oakland University, Columbia College, Kentucky State, Eastern Michigan University, Central Michigan University, Langston University

 

Plans After High School: Sam plans to attend a four-year institution and eventually enter the media world and become a news representative.  

Detroit College Ambassador Sydney Newsome-Smith had the opportunity to discuss the importance of FAFSA on Channel 7 News​. 

DecisionDay2019-2952.jpg

تابعنا على Facebook

  • Facebook - White Circle
Copy of Det College Day.jpg

تابعنا على تويتر

  • Twitter
DSC_0131.JPG

تابعنا على تويتر

  • Instagram
DCAN_Luncheon_2019-70.jpg

تابعنا على تويتر

  • LinkedIn

Detroit College Ambassadors (DCA)

PURPOSE

The Detroit College Ambassador (DCA) program is an annual youth leadership project in which selected students who attended or are attending Detroit area high schools serve as near-peer youth college ambassadors who promote college-going cultures within their schools and social circles. These students act as community leaders within the city of Detroit. We train the ambassadors to work with their high school counselors and school administrators to create or enhance the college-going culture in their buildings. The ambassadors engage in peer-to-peer support and knowledge sharing to increase postsecondary planning, college applications completion, and FAFSA completion in their school buildings and throughout the city. 

Screen Shot 2020-07-23 at 5.07.28 PM.png

HISTORY

The Detroit College Ambassador Program Piloted in the Summer of 2019 with former College Advisors and the Executive Director of DCAN. The DCA Program is now in year 2 with 6 new ambassadors. The ambassador program hosts programming around post secondary readiness and attainment. The DCA leadership team also provides their Peers vs Pennants Ambassador training to train other students in Detroit to act as ambassadors in their schools.

 

The DCA program widens DCAN’s capacity to support every Detroit high school student in creating and executing postsecondary plans. Peer-to-peer support and knowledge sharing is uniquely effective because youth are largely impacted by other youths. Ultimately, the Ambassadors directly influence the futures of thousands of peers by causing them to take actions toward attaining higher education credentials and encouraging their peers, families, and communities to do the same. Peer network building reinforces citywide postsecondary education and economic advancement.

AMBASSADOR GOALS

2020-2021

  • 70% of students on listserv complete FAFSA application. 

 

  • 70% of students on listserv apply for enrollment into at least one college or postsecondary professional trade certification program. 

 

  • 70% of students on listserv register for Detroit Promise, a Detroit Regional Chamber sponsored two-and-four-year scholarship opportunities. 

 

  • 70% of students on listserv are accepted to a college or postsecondary professional trade school or program. 

fullsizeoutput_17c9.jpeg
IMG_8005.jpg

Upcoming Events

FAFSA and Fajitas

October 31, 2020 11am - 1pm

Join us at The Corner Ballpark - Detroit PAL for support with the FAFSA. There will be free tacos, treat bags and $25 Kroger or Amazon gift cards for the first 10 families who sign up and fulfill their appointment. Social distancing will be practiced. 

College App-A-Thon

November 3, 2020 10am - 12n

What's a College App-A-Thon? Seniors can join us on Zoom and complete college apps for 2 hours, with the chance to win a $100 Gift Card!  Underclassmen can also join for a college fit presentation and chances to win amazon gift cards. 

College Cafes

Ongoing Sessions

Are you in need of a space to work and receive supports you would normally be receiving on your college campus? If so, the College Cafe Might be the place for you. More details coming soon. Fill out the interest survey if you would like  more information. 

Follow us on Facebook

  • Facebook - White Circle

Follow us on Twitter

  • Twitter

Detroit College Access Network

1 Woodward Ave, Suite 1900, Detroit, MI 48226

info@detroitcan.org  |  Tel: 313-600-1827

  • Facebook
  • Twitter